Wildland Fire Leadership Development Program

navigation bar
  Paul Gleason Lead by Example (LBE) Award Past Recipients




image of firefighter boots


2016 LBE Award Winners


photo of Risko receiving Lead by Example awardThe National Wildfire Coordinating Group Leadership Subcommittee announced the 2016 Lead by Example Award winners: George Risko, South Puget Sound Region - Washington DNR, Scott Anderson, Diego Mendiola, and Debbie Myers and Dan Cottrell.

George Risko, Florida Forest Service, was awarded a LBE Award for his initiative and innovation.

The South Puget Sound Region, Washington Department of Natural Resources, was also selected for initiative and innovation at the regional level.photo of Washington DNR employees receiving award

Scott Anderson, Bureau of Land Management (retired), received the award for motivation and vision. Scott has influenced others around him throughout his career as well as improved the wildland fire service through inspiration and intent.

Diego Mendiola, US Forest Service, has always shown great leadership and teamwork skills. He was awarded the LBE award for mentoring and teamwork.

photo of Cottrell and Myers holding LBE AwardsDebbie Myers and Dan Cottrell, US Forest Service, developed the Lead Forward Program which contributes to positive workforce and organizational change in Region 1's smokejumper unit. This endeavor won Myers and Cottrell an award for mentoring and teamwork.

LBE Awards Past Recipients
2003 2004 2005 2006 2007

Dave Koch
Mark Linane
Bill Miller
Dan Kleinman
Curtis Heaton
Mike Bland

Paul Chamberlin
Daria Day
Jon Larson
Mid-Plains Interagency Handcrew,
Crew Bosses
Karl Brauneis
Jim Cook
LJ Brown
Pete Gordon
Brit Rosso
Fire Operations Staff,
Vale District BLM
Pam McDonald
Bill Waln
Chris Wilcox
Fire Management Division,
Winnemucca Field Office
Tom Boatner
Texas Forest Service
BDF Engine 57 Family
Support Staff
Jack Kirkendall
George Weldon
Jerome McDonald
Larry Sutton
Brad Mayhew
2008 2009 2010 2011 2012
Rich Dolphin
Bequi Livingston
Cyndie Hogg
Gary Hawkins
John "JP" Harris
James Barnier
Dennis Baldridge
Stan Stewart
Pete Glover
Steve Holdsambeck
Kathy Komatz
Jason Fallon
North Zone Fire Management
Thomas Taylor
Travis Dotson
Tony Doty
Patrick Lookabaugh
Ralph Thomas
Anthony Escobar
John Lauer
Shane Olpin
2013 2014 2015 2016  
Chad Fisher
Dr Carl Seielstad
Jim Shultz
Palomar Interagency
Hotshot Crew
Kevin Donham
Kip Gray
Eric Hipke
Alex Robertson
Bryan Sholz
Paul Cerda
Wally Ochoa

Jerry Ingersoll
Justin Vernon
Tommy Hayes
Rowdy Muir

- George Risko
- South Puget Sound Region, Washington DNR
- Scott Anderson
- Diego Mendiola
- Debbie Myers and Dan Cottrell
Home Values & Principles Toolbox Training Courses Subcommittee Members